Making Your Own Pasta

Time consuming, but worth it! This last week I tried using the different equipment to try making my own ravioli and then spaghetti noodles. As I mentioned earlier this week the ravioli bombed, I’m not sure if the thickness wasn’t right for the sheets of dough, or I tried to fill it to full. I just did like the video I watched, but who knows. I may try again at a later date, but for all the time it took I was very aggravated when a pile of mushy goo went into the garbage. Thankfully it doesn’t happen to often, but you might actually see steam coming out the ears when a kitchen experiment goes awry. Ain’t pretty folks.

The spaghetti noodle maker on the other hand was much more simple and was a whole different experience. It went together easily. I dropped my fresh noodles into boiling water and they were done in about three minutes. The flavor was out of this world and it will make it very hard to give this particular attachment back. I know that it will be going on my to-get list. The idea of buying boxed noodles isn’t very appetizing anymore.

I just wanted to show you a few pictures of the process of making my own pasta. Also if you decide to try making your own, I found an amazing pasta recipe here. It also gives ideas how to flavor/add color. The tomato paste works fabulously!

All the ingredients, I doubled the recipe. The seminola flour makes a big difference.

The dough after it was all mixed together.

Ready to go through the roller on setting 1...The picture came out a little fuzzy on this one. Remember from Tuesday that the camera has personality issues!

My 6 strips of dough. All shapes and sizes here...Still learning.. Yes those are towels and spaghetti noodles over my kitchen cabinets. Hubby was gracious enough to stand on a little step-ladder to help me hang and separate all the noodles. Ive got 2 layers on each door. Times like this remind me that my hubby is fabulous and oh so patient with my endeavors!!!!

Yes those are towels and spaghetti noodles over my kitchen cabinets. Hubby was gracious enough to stand on a little step ladder to help me hang and separate all the noodles. I've got 2 layers on each door.

Such was my experience making spaghetti. Hope you enjoyed the little tour. If you ever get the chance to try making your own. Set aside a little time so you don’t get stressed on a time crunch and enjoy the freshness of homemade spaghetti noodles!
Have a fabulous weekend!

I’m linking up my blog to the Delightful Order for the Inspiring Thursday Party!!

2 responses »

    • Thanks for checking out my blog, the seminola flour definitely adds amazing taste!

Leave a Reply

