Tough Questions

Today I finished a book that challenged me. I was unsure what to expect when I ordered my complimentary copy from Waterbrook press to review, but was pleasantly surprised. It is called The Treasure Principle by Randy Alcorn. At first I was concerned that it would be similar to the rave that went through for a while about the prayer of Jabez and praying to get more from God. Yet that wasn’t even close to what I found. This book was to unlock the secrets of joyful giving.

It covered 6 quick keys or Treasure Principles as he called them.

  • God owns everything. I’m his money manager.
  • My heart always goes where I put God’s money.
  • Heaven, not earth, is my home.
  • I should live not for the dot but for the line (focus on eternity not earth).
  • Giving is the only antidote to materialism.
  • God prospers me not to raise my standard of living, but to raise my standard of giving.

It took a challenging look at the worlds and Christians perspective of money. Sadly it seems that they are generally the same. One of the primary focuses on the book was tithing and then evening giving after the tithe or giving until it stretches you. That is something I’ve heard before, but you don’t hear it preached on often.

I wanted to share one of the challenging passages with you from the book…”It is increasingly common for Christians to ask one another the tough questions: How is your marriage? Have you been spending time in the Word? How are you doing in terms of sexual purity? Have you been sharing your faith? But how often do we ask, “How much are you giving to the Lord?” or “Have you been robbing God?” or “Are you winning the battle against materialism?””

It made me a think about our checkbook, our priorities. Asking are they where they need to be, in reflection I think that some of them are going to be needing to make a quick change. Hubby has already agreed to read this book and I pray that this message is something taken to heart and lived throughout the rest of our lives.

In the end of the book it includes 31 questions just to help people think through the process of giving and then as an “answer” it includes a scripture and more you can go read through if you have the time. Incredible short 120 page book and I would recommend it to a new or old believer in the faith!

Please stop by and rank my review…you can go do that here…
http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/bloggingforbooks/reviews/ranking/8943

Leave a Reply

