The Skin Map

This was my second e-book from booksneeze provided as a complimentary copy to review. I excitedly started the book ready to follow the adventures of Kit Livingston as he discovers a world of ley lines and essentially time travel.

It starts off in current day London where Kit meets up with his long-lost great-grandfather, who somehow managed not to age. His great-grandfather introduces him to a whole new world and tells him about the keys to traveling into parallel universes. The first “page” of the book immediately drew you into a different time just due to the older English and then the sheer descriptions of any given situation. I’m an avid reader and yet there were many times that I would have to re-read the sentence just to get the full context of a word.

I enjoyed the older English of the book and the general premise, but the book seemed to drag. I kept waiting for something to happen, but between following the multiple characters the book introduces and the lengthy descriptions of any given scene it took a long time to see what was going to happen next.

From my understanding this is the first part of the series, but I don’t think I would grab the next installment to see what happens. 😦

Leave a Reply

